The 43rd National Stereoscopic Association Convention

2017 3D-Con & ISU Congress

August 8-14, 2017 • Hotel Irvine Jamboree Center • Irvine, CA


Many awards are presented over the course of the convention. Congratulations to the following winners!

Image Awards

Stereo Theatre

Still Images and also Paul Wing Award: James Comstock, Into Orchids
Video: Ikuo Nakamura, Anitya

Card Competition

Vintage Card Competition
1st Place: Linda Nygren, The Great War from the British Perspective
2nd Place: Michael McEachern, Sacramento 1850-1880
3rd Place: Russell Norton, The Old Mill

Modern Card Competition
Tex Treadwell Award: Michael McEachern, My Alien Abduction
1st Place: David Kuntz, Southern California Sights
2nd Place: Donna Matthews, The Women's March 2017
3rd Place: Jane Sabini, Les Diableries Tout as Long di L'Annee
HM: Maciek Samulski, Melrose Abbey

SSA PSA Competition

Best of Show: Harold Jacobsohn, Glacier Bay Alaska
Best Creative Card: Michael Cosentino, Unreal Reel
Best Complete Card (front/back): Don Komarechka, Tending Aphids
Best Landscape/Seascape: Andrea Shetley, Isolation
Best Novice: Thomas Asch, Train Journey
Judges' Choice:
  Robert Bloomberg, Rubik's Cubist
  Greg Duncan, Harlequins Vs Saracens
  Chris Reynolds, Jellyfish
Honorable Mention:
  John Ballou, Magnolia After a Spring Rain
  Dennis Green, Blarney Castle
  David Smith, Cotswald Cottage
  David Smith, Girl at Water Pump
  Cecil Stone, Ali

On-Site Competition

1st Place: George Themelis, Spinning
2nd Place: David Brown, Car Wash
3rd Place: Gene Mitofsky, Pottery Making Demo at Sawdust
Honorable Mention:
  Robert Bloomberg, Waiting for a Shine
  Jim Harp, Stereo Bubbles Japan
  George Themelis, Fun at the Fair
  Andrea Shetley, Hold It Right There
  Oleg Vorobyoff, View from Newport Beach Pier
Knott's Berry Farm Best Image, Pierre Meindre, Roller Coaster

nVidia Showcase

1st Place: Robert Bloomberg, Owl Stairwell - St. Paul's Cathedral
2nd Place: David Kuntz, Dumpling Shop
3rd Place: LLuis Dubreuil, Bubbles
Honorable Mention:
  Robert Bloomberg, Amazonian Horned Frog
  Jack Muzatko, Be Mine
  George Themelis, Look
  George Themelis, Splash
  Robert Bloomberg, Bat's All Folks

Art Gallery

Artists' Choice: Debi Cable

StereoWorld Awards

The Ray Zone Award

for Best Stereo World Article on Historical Stereoscopy:
Paula Richardson Fleming, "R.B. Lewis' Morning Glories", Vol 42, No 4
Honorable Mention: Peter Klein, "William Harding Warner: Landscape Photographer, 1825-1895", Vol 42, No 2

The Lou Smaus Award

for Best Stereo World Article on Modern Stereoscopy:
Mark Willke, "The Nightmare Returns Again! Alice Cooper in 3D", Vol 42, No 5
Honorable Mention: Lawrence Kaufman, "3D TV: A Short History", Vol 42, No 1

NSA Awards

The William C. Darrah "Fellow of the NSA" Award

for Distinguished Scholarship and Extraordinary Knowledge of Stereoscopy:
David W. Kuntz

The Robert M. & Lois Waldsmith Award

for Meritorious Service and Extraordinary Contribution of Time and Effort to the NSA:
Lee Pratt

NSA Honorary Lifetime Membership Award

for long, dedicated service to NSA and/or outstanding contribution to stereoscopy:
William H. (Bill) Moll

ISU Awards

Burder Achievement Award

Robert Bloomberg
Website by Terry Wilson,